From BroaDWcast
Jump to: navigation, search
TV Guide, Oct. 10, 1975
Network: PBS Channel(s): 11
First airing: 1975 Last airing: 1996

Chicago Defender, Nov. 1, 1975
Daily Herald, Sept. 25, 1975

Festival 77 ident that appeared when Terror of the Autons was repeated in March 1977
1985 flier to prompt WTTW to buy more Pertwee episodes
  • 29 September 1975: Doctor Who make its series debut in Chicago, screening weekdays at 6.30pm. The first serial to air is The Mutants. Serials continue to air out of order.
  • From January 1976, random stories are repeated even though there are first-run stories still yet to screen. (The Curse of Peladon does not screen.)
  • 7-10 March 1977: A repeat of Terror of the Autons is the only story to air in 1977 (as part of Festival 77). This story was recorded by at least two fans, which were later used by the Restoration Team to recolourise the story.
  • 11 February 1980: The Tom Baker stories make their Chicago debut; the first story is in fact the last, The Invasion of Time! Episodes air weekdays at 5.30pm. Stories are cycled through twice.
  • 4 January 1981: WTTW begins airing compilations with The Sun Makers. WTTW creates the compilations by editing together their existing copies. Six-part stories are made into two-part stories.
  • 23 August 1981: Tom Baker's final three seasons begin.
  • 2 October 1982: An addition run begins on Saturday mornings to compete with WOR's broadcasts, so there are two different cycles of Baker airing at the same time. The run ends 23 March 1983.
  • 24 April 1983: The Peter Davison stories debut.
  • 12 June 1983: A package of just the extant full colour Jon Pertwee stories commences, including several stories only just recently recovered from Canada. Lionheart provides the compilation episodes. As stories longer than four parts are split over two weeks, WTTW creates new compilations from Lionheart's, creating breaks in random places. For more details visit Chicago Epguides.
  • 23 November 1983: The Five Doctors airs, two days before it aired in the UK. Chicago had not yet seen season 20 before the airing.
  • 24 November 1984: Season 20 and 21 begin.
  • 1984-1986: Repeats of Baker, Pertwee and Davison episodes.
  • 8 December 1986: The the newly acquired Jon Pertwee package airs nightly, interrupted by pledge breaks. The Curse of Peladon is aired on WTTW for the first time during this run.
  • July 1996: A series of selected repeats leads into the debut screening of season 26 on 25 August. However, WTTW does not screen Battlefield.
  • 8 September 1996: Survival is the final episode of Doctor Who to air on WTTW.

The Black and White Conspiracy Theory:

There were contemporary rumors that WTTW did not want to air the William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton stories because they were in black and white. WTTW did show them ... once. Only two black and white stories were ever shown a second time: Terror of the Autons and The Mind of Evil.

In addition to not repeating Hartnell and Troughton episodes, WTTW also did not repeat the black and white Jon Pertwee episodes (Doctor Who and the Silurians, The Ambassadors of Death, Terror of the Autons and The Mind of Evil) as part of their regular runs.

Terror of the Autons was shown as part of a pledge-night special on 12 March 1988. Ironically, the host jokingly wished that the story could be colorized, forgetting that it had been shown on WTTW in color eleven years earlier.

On 16 July 1989, part 1 of The Monster of Peladon was mistakenly shown. WTTW rectified their mistake by showing the entire story three weeks later. By showing part 1 twice, WTTW had fulfilled its contract to air each story no more than twice. So when it came time to show The Monster of Peladon again (8 November 1990), they couldn't. So they needed a suitable replacement: a six-part Jon Pertwee story. The only episode to fit that bill was The Mind of Evil.
John Barrowman mentions watching Doctor Who on WTTW
slate after Planet of the Spiders 1
The classic Sunday night lineup